International dog treats



"A delightful story about the joys and deeper meanings dogs bring into our lives."
Amy Tan, New York Times best-selling author

"As a man owned by a dog, I read this book with delight, merriment and deep sympathy. And when I reached the most touching parts there was my dog's head, in my lap - he knew I had a heart all along."
David Thomson, author of The New Biographical Dictionary of Film and Try To Tell The Story: A Memoir

" Even people who don't much care for dogs, and I am one, will be moved and entertained by Steven Winn's story of pursuit and rejection and renewed pursuit between man and pooch. Its real subject, transcending species, is the struggle for understanding between minds and hearts."
Adam Gopnik, New Yorker staff writer and author of Paris to the Moon and Angels and Ages: A Short Book About Darwin, Lincoln, and Modern Life

"Tailor-made for fans of Marley & Me but with a happier ending, this is a funny, exciting, and often moving story of a man, his family, and their new dog: Como, the small, shaggy terrier with the big, shaggy personality." read more>
David Pitt, Booklist Online, www.booklistonline.com

"Despite the title and the prominent photo of Como on the cover, this book is not really about a dog. It is about the family into whose days a dog comes, disrupting routine and challenging its members - especially Winn - at every turn. "
read more
>
Alexandra Horowitz, San Francisco Chronicle

"Come Back, Como: Winning the Heart of a Reluctant Dog (Harper, $23.99), by Steven Winn, tells of the writer's experience with the dog who didn't want anything to do with him. The comical and hear-warming tale follows the Winn family's struggles to win over their dog, and domonstrates the rewards they earned in the end."
— Dog Fancy, January 2010, PAWTURNER

"Dogs are, it is said, man's best friend. Alas for the author, Como, a small and strong-willed white Terrier mix he and his family adopted from a local shelter, didn't get the memo. Oh, sure, Como loved daughter Phoebe and wife Sally -- but Winn? Como would have nothing to do with him. In the Winn household, the dog was exclusively woman's best friend. This well-told tale of pursuit amd rejection and ordeals endured is oddly inspiring and surprisingly smile-inducing. The author doesn't flinch from revealing his own inept moments, nor does he pretend his heart wasn't involved in the chase for Como's affection. The book is a good reminder of the many ways dogs occupy our hearts and lives."
— Bark magazine, No. 57, Nov. '09-Jan. '10

In this beautifully crafted memoir, prize-winning journalist Steven Winn chronicles the remarkable relationship between his family and the dog they rescued.

I first met Como years ago in the pages of the San Francisco Chronicle, so I eagerly anticipated the release of the book itself. I was not disappointed.

Winn and his wife, Sally, had one child, Phoebe. Phoebe wanted a dog. Phoebe got her dog from a local shelter – a neurotic, shaggy, very clever terrier mix, and the Winns took on the job of winning the dog’s heart. Come Back, Como is a sometimes sweet, sometimes hilarious, consistently entertaining and moving record of the next four years as Como wins the author’s heart instead. An absolute must-read for any dog lover, or any fan of downright good writing.

Claudette Smith, Sacramento Book Review, May 3, 2010

 



Share your canine stories and photos or write your own review of Come Back, Como. Look for your story on the “Your Stories” section of this site. Email your story >





"This is a sweetly written, poignant tale of puppy love."
People Magazine
See full review >


Copyright © 2009-2010 Steven Winn. All rights reserved.

Web design by Studio JM